Berlin - trip report

Mar 31st, 2004, 11:54 AM
Original Poster

Berlin - trip report

This is my first time posting here although I have spent a lot of time lurking in preparation for our trip to Berlin. We have just returned from only a few short days there and enjoyed our visit very much. Thanks to everyone who has posted messages here about Berlin as it helped us greatly. I hope what follows may help others who were thinking about visiting.

We arrived at Tegel Airport from London Heathrow late Saturday afternoon and took the X9 bus to the city centre. The journey time was about 25 minutes to Zoological Garden, which was close to our hotel. We were a little unsure which ticket to buy at the automatic machine so went for the ABC zone option that cost, if I recall correctly, 6 euro. I should say that each and every time on this trip we bought tickets for rail and underground services I think we paid too much!

There were usually always three rates at those automatic ticket machines but we never managed to figure out the most appropriate for us and thought it safer to always take the last option in case a ticket inspector challenged us. OK, we admit to being cowards but our grandchildren would have been proud to see this pair of oldies navigating around a city without asking anyone for help.

We arranged accommodation with the Crowne Plaza Hotel, which is about a 5-minute walk from Zoo, behind the Europa Centre and very close to Ka De We. We could not fault the hotel; our room was largish and at the rear of the building that suited us just fine as it was nice and quiet. We paid 98 euro for Saturday and Monday nights and 80 euro for Sunday (excluding breakfast). The staff was helpful, efficient and very friendly.
Mar 31st, 2004, 11:56 AM
Original Poster