COVID-19 Travel Advisory: Stay up to date with the latest on the coronavirus pandemic.   Learn More >

Barcelona Vs. Madrid: comparing cities

Old Jan 6th, 2005, 01:21 PM
Original Poster

Barcelona Vs. Madrid: comparing cities

Amigos,

Before I turn 26 in March, I intend to travel to Spain for as long as possible. Currently, I am an American graphic designer in New York City (coreyolin.com), and live in Brooklyn. Freelancing in either city would be a dream. I am familiar with Spanish, but need to learn the language (Catalan or Castillian), once I arrive. I'm doing all of my research on Madrid and Barcelona, but I find it hard to draw concrete lines and decide on which city to commit myself to. I would love to hear your impressions, opinions, and advice on both cities. From what I have learned so far, Barcelona is a very tourist-based city, small, but quite beautiful. It may become stale after a long stay. Madrid seems to be more like New York, but not nearly as cultural and open-minded as the former. Thanks to all, any information you could supply is deeply appreciated.
Old Jan 6th, 2005, 01:44 PM

Bar-the-lona is no small city but a megalopolis that won't go stale any quicker than Madrid. Barcelona's old quarter is one of the finest in europe and Gaudi's edifices spice up the city. madrid is one of Europe's less beautiful cities, a boisterous smog-filled huge conurbation, with some great museums and a few nice squares but generally not as romantic as Barcelona. barcelona has the reputation as one of Europe's most cultural cities, whatever that means. Plus it's a port and the sea adds to its beauty. Madrid has better day trips - Toledo, Avila, Segovia and Salamanca are all wonderfully goregous old looking cities not far away from rail or road. Barcelona has some too, especially Montserrat, the famous crag-top pilgrimmage mecca. You can't go wrong; i would chose Barcelona hands down but that's just one opinion.
Old Jan 6th, 2005, 03:04 PM