Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Any downsides to using booking sites for European flights?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 21st, 2013, 09:16 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have my tickets to and from Portugal but want to plan on flying from Portugal to Rome for five days sometime during my stay. i have found some very good fares on several booking sites but seem to remember cautionary tales. I can book directly with TAP (Air Portugal) but can save using Orbitz or another site for the same TAP flights.

Is there any down side to booking other then directly with the carrier? If there are weather delays, flight cancellations or other unforeseen travel problems would I be dealing with Orbitz or Expedia rather than TAP?

In all my 60+ trips tp Europe I have always booked directly with the carrier so I have no experience with this and appreciate your thoughts.
Old Jun 21st, 2013, 10:05 PM

The downside is that you are booking through a third party. If anything goes wrong, your recourse is not with the airline, but the very same third party.

I always book directly from the airline. One screwup and it's you that is screwed.
Old Jun 21st, 2013, 11:52 PM

I also always book directly with airlines and hotels...I don't want to deal with a third party if something goes wrong!
Old Jun 22nd, 2013, 02:18 AM