Anniversary trip to Paris in January

Dec 7th, 2006, 04:27 PM
Original Poster

Anniversary trip to Paris in January

Hi, I'm new to Fodor's but have enjoyed reading what other members have shared. My husband and I are going to Paris in January for the first time for our anniversary. We got a great hotel deal, and I'm still waiting to buy the airfare, I'm hoping I can get a better price than I have found so far, what do you think would be a reasonable price for that time of the year. We were told is offseason, we are traveling from Orlando, Fl. We also wanted to spend some days in Italy but were not sure where to go to really see what Italy has to offer. We were planning on spending 4 nights in Paris and 2 or 3 in Italy. I don't know how much we can see from that short period of time but I rather see just a little of Italy than nothing at all. If we could get suggestions on what to do or where to go in Italy we would really appreciate it.

Thank you
Dec 7th, 2006, 04:49 PM

We went from Italy to Paris last January. The best connection we found was MyAir.com between Venice and Paris Orly. Orly is Paris' most convenient airport.

If you can, fly into Venice first, then home from Paris. Return flights from Venice leave very early and transport to the airport becomes an issue. It's hard to say what you should pay. I assume you'll go thru Atlanta and there don't seem to be as many fare sales for those flights (I'm in the south, too).
Dec 7th, 2006, 04:53 PM

I would definitely spend the entire time in Paris and save italy for another occasion. You would be spending an extra travel day in the middle.
Dec 7th, 2006, 05:09 PM

Nicky:
Though we loved Venice, I do agree with estravel that staying in Paris is the better option. Four days will zip by. Not to mention the weather. It was very cold in Paris in January---all the fountains were frozen solid!--- and it gets dark early, around 4:30pm. You won't regret spending the entire week there.
Dec 7th, 2006, 05:22 PM