Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

American family just moved to Zurich - needs help finding family friendly ski resort for Feb. 07 ski week.

Search

American family just moved to Zurich - needs help finding family friendly ski resort for Feb. 07 ski week.

Search this Thread

Old Sep 24th, 2006, 12:22 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I just moved to Zurich, Switzerland and am trying to make plans for ski week (Feb 2007). I have 2 kids (10 & 7) and we've skied a few times back in the Rockies (Beaver Creek + KEystone). We'll get in some weekend skiing between Nov - Feb probably at Flims... so we won't be total beginners. So, I'm looking for a family friendly resort that isn't too far from Zurich that will offer nice lodging and skiing in Feb. Verbier, Wengen, Grindewald and Arosa have been suggested by people we've met. I'd love any advice to help our planning!
Old Sep 24th, 2006, 01:25 PM

The usually mentioned family-friendly skiing areas are Arosa, Savognin in Graubünden, Adelboden in Berner Oberland etc. The prices are also lower than at Flims-Laax etc., not to mention Zermatt/Davos/StMoritz. However there are tons of skiing areas within daytrip distance of Zürich - if you take the train Flumserberg is probably the easiest and not bad at all (they extend the S2 line in winter to Flums and you have the cable car right across the station). If you go by car nice very friendly skiing areas close to Zürich are Hoch-Ybrig (south of Einsiedeln), Stoos near Brunnen, or Pizol above Bad Ragaz. All these can also be reached by train/bus without too much hassle, but for Flumserberg train is actually easier and less hassle than the car. These are quite small (30-50 km skiing slopes each) but mostly very nice.

Flims-Laax is a huge area but not very beginner-friendly - but anyway you can ski and kids learn it anyway.
Old Sep 24th, 2006, 01:32 PM