Altitude Sickness Medication

Old May 12th, 2014, 04:12 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Altitude Sickness Medication

I just got a prescription for Acetazolamide filled, to help prevent altitude sickness, as I intend to take the train to the top of the Jungfrau. The directions say I should start taking it a day or two before I experience high altitudes. However, given the uncertainty of visibility at the top of the Jungfrau,, I don't know which day I will head up the Jungfrau. Have any of you used this medication, and if so, any advice on using it? Should I just take it every day, (I'll be there for five days), since I don't know what day(s) I'll be going to the really high altitudes?

Thanks for your help with this.
Old May 12th, 2014, 04:33 PM

We took diamox in Peru but not Switzerland. I am not a doctor so take this for what it's worth. From my understanding there is little risk associated with taking the medication a couple of days too early. But you may not want to experience the possible side effects for no benefit if your ascent is delayed.

Again, not a doc.
Old May 12th, 2014, 05:19 PM

you should definitely discuss this with your doctor rather than self-medicate or ask others who do not know your medical history.
Old May 12th, 2014, 09:50 PM

Have you a particular reason for thinking you'll be susceptible to altitude sickness?

It's easy to obsess about such things, but in reality, when I went up the Jungfrau, whilst I could sense the air was much thinner, it was no big deal.

I wouldn't want to run a marathon up there, but if you take it easy, it's not necessarily an issue for a normal, reasonably fit person at all. In fact, working at home at a sedentary desk job, I probably barely qualify as 'reasonably' fit these days! ;0)
Old May 13th, 2014, 01:34 AM