Advice needed on using FF miles for 2008

Aug 29th, 2007, 01:16 PM
Original Poster

Advice needed on using FF miles for 2008

I am planning a trip to Berlin/Geneva for September 2008 using FF miles. I have read all about the 330 day call in the middle of the night to get seats but am wondering how critical this is for travel in Sept. I was curious and checked for doing the same trip THIS YEAR and found many open tickets at the 25,000 level and it's only a few weeks away. I know things could change and it might be a lot more difficult next year but I'm thinking my trip would probably be pretty easy to book next May or June. Have you had much trouble using your FF miles in September with only several months notice?
Aug 29th, 2007, 01:21 PM

I'm not an expert with FF miles but we just used miles to purchase flights to Geneva and out of Venice for April/early May of this year. I assumed that we would have no problems getting the dates that we wanted given that its midseason in Switzerland (too late for winter sports and too early for summer ones) but we ended up loosing a day of our vacation and had to rearrange our itinerary to get a decent flight back home. So basically I wouldn't assume anything. If you know where you want to go and when you want to go, I would book it.

Tracy
Aug 29th, 2007, 01:23 PM

Oops, that was supposed to be April/early May of NEXT year. Sorry!
Aug 29th, 2007, 01:26 PM

I don't know what airline FF miles you have nor what booking class you want but speaking about AA, there are more seat availabilities using economy miles (40,000-60,000) than business class miles (milesaaver at 90,000). There's no need to do the 329 days at midnight wait because sometimes the seats you want are not even available until a few days later... you just need to be checking constantly. However, as soon as you know your dates and destinations, its always advisable to book early. Good Luck.
Aug 29th, 2007, 01:28 PM
Original Poster