8 Days in Provence

Search

8 Days in Provence

Search this Thread

Old Apr 13th, 2015, 12:17 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
8 Days in Provence

Hello, this is my first time posting to this forum. I have read quite a few postings about Provence, and have learned a lot about the main towns. We plan to visit Avignon, Nimes, Arles, Aix, and Montpellier, yet we are yearning for a French countryside experience, and would like to find a nice village (or two) to use as a home base. Instead of excursions to the countryside, we would prefer day trips into the various towns. I have heard the Luberon is lovely, and I am sure there are other lovely areas, but it is all so difficult to plan having never been.

Question: Does anyone have experience staying in the countryside in Provence, with proximity enough to the main tourist sites to make a day trip or overnight trip practical? We are most interested in experience true French culture in a welcoming town not as frequented by the masses, if that is even possible. Many thanks.
Old Apr 13th, 2015, 06:10 AM

We've spent 20 weeks vacationing in Provcence. We always stay in the countyside in Gites (houses). The Luberon is perfect for a first-timer.

Stu Dudley
Old Apr 13th, 2015, 06:36 AM

Agree that The Luberon is a wonderful place to get the feel of countryside Provence.

St Saturnin les Apts is a lovely small village that is not heavily frequented by day trippers, so it retains it's charm, yet is close enough to LOTS of wonderful places to visit all within a short drive time.

http://www.accommodationinprovence.com/what-to-do/

IF you are planning less than a week stay [gites are typically rented minimu, usually Saturday to Saturday] you'll want a Chambre d'hôte/ B&B [see above link for a lovely one]
Old Apr 13th, 2015, 07:58 AM