3 weeks in Oxford- what to do?

Jan 2nd, 2011, 02:33 PM
Original Poster

3 weeks in Oxford- what to do?

I'm 19 and I am studying abroad in England this summer for 3 weeks. I will be staying in Oxford. I have class until 1:00 Mon-Thurs, and the rest of the day is free. What should I do in Oxford for the rest of the day?
During the weekend, we will be taking excursions to Stonehenge, Salisbury, the Isle of Wight, and London through the study abroad program. I have another question posted about other day trips to take from Oxford (after 1:00) and any other suggestions about that would also be appreciated!
Jan 2nd, 2011, 03:13 PM

What was suggested on your other thread - plus just explore Oxford. Once you get there you will see that the central part of Oxford where most of the colleges are is very compact and you will find things of interest around every street corner.

Which college are you attending and where are you staying?
Jan 2nd, 2011, 03:27 PM
Original Poster

ok, thanks!
I'm staying at St. Hilda's College, but I will be taking classes with a professor from my university.
Jan 2nd, 2011, 03:45 PM

St Hilda's is just across Magdalen Bridge from the High street and across the river from the Botanic Gardens

(some summer schools are held at outlying 'lesser' schools - yours is close in to central Oxford, other colleges and the major sites. You will have a great time)
Jan 2nd, 2011, 05:34 PM

Hi there! I did this as a college student myself--6 weeks at Brasenose College. You will have a blast. There is so much to soak in...