Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

3 Rome Museums - Compare/Contrast please...

Feb 9th, 2014, 07:28 AM
Original Poster

Solo traveler first trip to Europe in mid September. I have 2.5 days (3nts) in Rome and have decided on seeing/doing the following: St. Peters, Pantheon, Forum, Colosseum and wandering the city center.

I am a novice when it comes to museums but would like to have a memorable, relaxing yet inspiring experience at a museum.

Can you please compare/contrast the following in terms wow factor, beauty, intimacy and the general vibe while visiting.

Vatican Museum - Borghese Gallery - National Museum of Rome
Feb 9th, 2014, 07:37 AM

That's asking to compare apples and oranges as far as I am concerned. Trying to choose one between the Vatican and Borghese for example simply isn't possible in my opinion.

That being said, given your limited time available, I'd say it doesn't matter which you choose. You're going to miss out on the others regardless and will need another visit to see them.

So I would go with what works in easiest with your walking around the city rambles, which would be the Vatican since you are already planning to be there.
Feb 9th, 2014, 07:40 AM

Don't forget the Modern Art museum, in Italy "Modern Art" starts around 1500.
Feb 9th, 2014, 07:41 AM

National Museum of Rome is 4 separate museums. I've only been to 2 of them so I won't address this except to say that you will find fewer people in the Palazzi Altemps and Massimo.

Intimacy - few museums are intimate. I would not say that the Vatian Museums nor Borghese Gallery are intimate. Both of these have beautiful art works and are completely different. They both have a wow factor and I would encourage you to visit both.