Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

2500$ for a two week trip. Need advice !

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 5th, 2017, 09:57 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello everyone,

I'm a 23 years old student from Quebec City, Canada and I dream of going to Europe, but my budget is a big tight and I can't save that much. However, if I stick to my weekly budget, I think I'll be able to have about 2500$ by March 2018. Some have told me it's sufficient, others think it's way under what I would need considering the cost of life there.

I dont plan on doing a very long trip, about two weeks at best. The only destination I can fly to from my hometown is Paris, France. In March, a rountrip ticket cost about 750 CAD$. I'm planning maybe to visit Paris (obviously) and maybe take a train to Amsterdam and spend about a day or two in Brussels in between and then come back to Paris to take my return flight.

I have questions:

- First, is 2500$ enough to do such a trip ?

- What can I do to save on money while I'm there, aside from using youth hostels and cheking for free sights and events ?

- Are these destinations good choices for a first-timer in Europe ?

Thank you in advance for your time and answers !

By the way, French is my first language. Therefore, please forgive me if I have done any blattant mistakes.

- Charles C.
Old Nov 5th, 2017, 10:33 AM

Check how much an open jaw ticket would cost arriving in Paris and leaving from Amsterdam. Then check what the train would cost 90 days from today (that's when cheap non-refundable tickets become available) going from Amsterdam to Paris, and then decide if a round trip ticket is preferable to an open jaw one.
Old Nov 5th, 2017, 10:48 AM

-" What can I do to save on money while I'm there, aside from using youth hostels and cheking for free sights and events ?"