23 Days in Northern Greece, Peloponesse, Athens

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 13th, 2021, 12:32 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Three weeks in Greece was exactly what I needed to break quarantine. It was magical. And it might take me three more weeks to finish this trip report! I have so much I want to share.

But first: This was my first overseas road trip with a car. I really underestimated my ability to drive long distances - I live on an island where a long drive is one hour. And I have zero experience driving on narrow mountain roads. And though the roads were fine, the other drivers were fine, and there was rarely traffic, I was stressed on driving days. There were two sections - into and out of the Pindus Mountains, and driving from Galaxidi to Delphi and back - that I might have had delayed panic attacks. I'm not an anxious person by nature ... this was a surprise for me.

I was supposed to have a friend join me, but he had an unexpected serious family emergency. The route I followed would have been easier with two people, and would be fine for those used to driving in mountains. It was an epic route, despite everything. I don't know what I'd cut.

The route, and brief notes:

- late night arrival, Thessaloniki. It was after midnight, and the streets were filled with music and people out walking.
  • 4 nights Saloniki. Two full days would have been fine. I thought of doing a tour the third day, but the options were limited.
  • 3 nights Monodendri. Visited Vergine en route. Did day hikes to the Vradeto Steps and the Vikos Gorge. Three days was perfect.
  • 2 nights Kastraki (Meteora) . Two days was good, I could have done a third, and done some hiking.
  • 2 nights Galaxidi. This was a very long driving day. Galaxidi was beautiful. Base for visiting Delphi.
  • 1 night Olimpia. I'm glad I had an overnight.
  • 1 night Messene. What a surprise. Easily one of my favorite classical Greek sites.