23 day iternerary to Italy need advice

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 10th, 2005, 01:32 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We are landing in Milan going to Bellagio for 3 days taking a train to Venice for 3 days, then down to Florence for 4 days.Is Florence a good homebase for Assisi,Sienna,San Gimignano,and Pisa. Would you reccomend renting a car to these areas or use trains.My next issue is ,would I be better off going north to cinque terre,which Iwant to fit in on this trip,or go south into the Sorrento,and Positano? Iwill have 13 days remaining.How many days in Rome,is 4 days reasonable. Any suggestions please inform me.Your thoughts and ideas mean alot I'm a person that respects experience.Thanks so much for your thoughts.
Old Jun 10th, 2005, 01:43 PM

What time of the year are you going?
Old Jun 10th, 2005, 07:24 PM
Original Poster

We are leaving sept 21 and returning October14,I am concerned I am a vet of Vietnam.I was a prisoner of war and this will be a challange there are a lot of things in my life I have a hard time with.
Old Jun 10th, 2005, 08:36 PM

Bellago and Venice for 3 days each sounds good.

If you only spend 4 days in Florence and take day trips you won't have much time to explore Florence so I would suggest spending a few more days here.

The train to Pisa is a good option but the bus to Siena is better since the train station is more than a walk from the old town. The bus let you off at a more convenient spot. Train to Assisi and then a cab to the basilica. I don't remember seeing a train station in San Gimignano and don't know where the closest station is so perhaps bus would be better here.

Since you're basing yourself in Florence I think public transport would be a better option than a car since it would be less stressful than trying to drive in and out of Florence, find your way to the towns, and find parking.