Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

20 days in UK, self drive or take the train?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 29th, 2016, 01:50 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello all,
This is my first time on this forum.We are from Mumbai, India. My husband, our 11yr old daughter and l am planning a trip to UK in june 2017. We’ve done parts of England and Scotland in our previous trips. So this time its Devon and Cornwall, Yorkshire, a bit of Wales and London(again and again!) for us.
So this is our tentative plan:
Land in London – overnight
Exeter – 3 nights
Chagford or Widecombe-in-the-Moor– 2 nights
St. Ives or Falmouth – 3 nights
Cardiff – 3nights
Llandudno - 2 nights
York – 5 nights
Pickering or Hutton-le-hole – 2nights
London – 5 nights
Now here are the questions: will car work better for this itinerary or should we stick to the train? We wouldn’t want to keep the car in London.
(We would like to stay in smaller villages but public transport seem to be a bit dodgy at some places hence the car option. Also I’m guilty of not travelling light, as the luggage mysteriously increases in transit!)
We are keen to do the Lizard point and Land’s End not so much so will it make more sense to stay around Falmouth instead of St. Ives? Or is St.Ives a better option to stay and a day trip to The Lizard is better?
We plan to do a fair bit of day trips from the bigger cities where we are staying for longer in that case is taking the car better or booking a guided tour would be worthwhile.
(e.g. trip to the Yorkshire dales, fountains abbey, bolton castle, aysgarth falls, buttercups pass…etc. from York . Trip to port Isaac, Tintagel, Newquay, Boscastle etc. from Exeter)