2 Full Days in Amsterdam - realistic?

Old Apr 16th, 2004, 08:55 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2 Full Days in Amsterdam - realistic?

Help!

I am planning our long-weekend trip to Amsterdam (from France) for August. I can get cheap airfare (less than $200USD total for 3 of us)on Easyjet.

I am considering flying on a Friday evening (arriving 8:30pm) and leaving on a Monday morning (8:30am). So that leaves 2 full days to sightsee. Given that timeframe, do you think seeing these sights is do-able?

-Anne Frank house
-Canal Boat tour
-Van Gogh Museum
-Heineken Experience
-Flower Market
-walk thru Red Light District during day

Keep in mind, we have a 2-year-old that takes 2-hour naps in the afternoon.

Comments are much appreciated.

Thanks!

Old Apr 16th, 2004, 09:01 AM

You can do all of it (except I am not sure what the Heineken experience is although I have had some Heineken experiences of my own). It's the perfect weekend timewise.
Old Apr 16th, 2004, 10:45 AM

If the lines at Anne Frank house are not too long, it will take 1-2 hours to visit. The canal boat tours are about 1 1/2 hours and depart from various locations. The Van Gogh Museum exhibits cover about 3 floors, I believe. It's a very open floor plan - you can dawdle there maybe a couple of hours. The Heineken Experience is a walk-thru exhibit (takes about 45 mins) then you can get a beer at the end. I would make this one the last event in case you run out of time; it's fun but not really 'must-see'. The Flower Market is a stroll with pauses for shopping along the way, so it doesn't require a lot of time. I don't think there will be much to 'see' in the Red Light District in the day time (as far as the 'windows' go), however there are quaint canal houses, shops, etc. as well.

So if you just assigned "2 hrs" to each event incl. naps, that would be 8 hours each day, + traveling + eating between the sights.
Old Apr 16th, 2004, 10:51 AM