Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

1st trip to Italy - itinerary input appreciated!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 30th, 2004, 03:13 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello!
I'm a double newbie (posting on this site and going to Europe!). I'd really appreciate some input on my itinerary. My husband and I are going to Italy from October 22 to November 4, and here's the plan so far:
- fly into Venice from Detroit
- 3 nights in Venice at the Locanda Orseolo (great reviews on TripAdvisor.com)
- train to Florence
- 4 nights in Florence (with a day trip to Sienna). Not sure where to stay - willing to spend up to 600 euro/night here (hotel savoy? the grand? hotel lungarno?)
- train to Rome
- 3 nights in Rome (want to stay in either Via Veneto area or Piazza di Spagna -- not sure where yet)
- train to Amalfi Coast (to which city should we take the train?). We will be in the AC from the 1st to 4th of November, should we be concerned about weather? The hotels we are interested are still open, but we cannot decide between Le Sirenuse in Positano or Santa Caterina in Amalfi. Both look amazing, but we can get a Jr. Suite at the SC, only a double at Sirenuse.
- Early plane from Naples to Rome
- Fly out of Rome and go home

Again, any input on this itinerary would be more than appreciated! This is our first trip to Europe and we really want to do it right
Thanks much!
Old Jul 30th, 2004, 03:32 PM

Good start on a very nice trip. One change--go to Amalfi coast from Florence and save Rome for last--since you fly home from there. I would always opt for Positano on that coast.
In Florence, the Lungarno is hard to beat. In Rome, you really need to be closer to the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. Look at Albergo Cesari and the del Senato. or the Minerva if you want to pay the price. Good luck !
Old Jul 30th, 2004, 03:45 PM
ira

Hi huntington,

Good advice from Bob.