10 day layover in Amsterdam

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 22nd, 2008, 11:07 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first time in Europe going in October and while I do not want to see everything, I would like feedback for a reasonable schedule to see Netherlands, Germany,Switzerland and Belgium. I am planning on staying in hostels at night (OR overnight train)

Is this too much to see in 10 days time??
Any feedback is gratefully appreciated. I do not want to bite off more than I can chew, as I am over 50.
Thanking you very kindly.
Steve
Old Jul 22nd, 2008, 11:32 PM

It's possible to set foot in each country on that schedule, but I would think about what you want to see and how long travel will take. I'd focus on at most three locations, with perhaps one daytrip.
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 03:41 AM

It depends on which cities you want to visit in these countries.

And where are you flying in and out of? An open jaw ticket would give you more flexibility.

How about:

3 nights Amsterdam
2 nights Brugge or Brussels
2 nights Mosel or Rhine Rivers
3 nights Zurich

Robyn >-
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 03:46 AM

I looked at your thread title again and it looks like you are flying in and out of Amsterdam.

In that case, I'd skip Switzerland and just do a loop:

Amsterdam to Brugge, then to the
Mosel & Rhine Rivers, then back to Amsterdam.

Robyn >-
Old Jul 23rd, 2008, 04:36 AM

I would prefer vibrant Antwerp or picturesque, charming Gent by the river to either Brussels or Brugge. Brussels is mainly a very unattractive city, with one beautiful central square, and while well-preserved medieval Brugge is an exceptionally popular destination for foreign tourists, there is very little life there that isn't tourist-themed to the point of kitschy.

Personally I would spend 2 nights in Antwerp, and one morning go to Brussels to see the Grand Place, and then spend the afternoon in Gent.