Which Seasickness medicine?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 26th, 2004, 01:04 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Dramamine makes me extremely sleeply. I've read about Bonine, Marazine, and Meclizine. Any opinions on the one that works best without making you sleepy?
Old Jan 26th, 2004, 02:15 PM

Bonine has worked for me.
Old Jan 26th, 2004, 03:30 PM

Bonine is the name brand version of meclizine. My husband has had good results with meclizine, which he takes in the evening, just in case it makes him sleepy.
Old Jan 27th, 2004, 10:03 AM

I always use ANTIVERT-it is perscription and my doc gives it to me..It is an anti-vertigo drug and does NOT make you sleepy..

I have been using this for 20 years..
Old Jan 27th, 2004, 07:09 PM

To avoid any possible confusion,please note that Antivert is a brand name for meclizine.
Old Jan 28th, 2004, 12:24 PM

You might want to test the medication before you use it on a cruise to see if there are any side effects. A brother of mine took some medicine for motion sickness (I don't remember which) and it made him very groggy and nauseous. He was down for a couple of days after taking it.
Old Feb 2nd, 2004, 05:45 PM

BONINE!! but if you are heading for a potential nightmare gale, take the patch and put it on several hours before you reach the storm. Tell the captain or his office you need advance weather info for health reasons. They are ususally helpful as they don't want their ship messed up!
Old Feb 3rd, 2004, 12:09 PM

Some people get very nauseous from the patch- so try it out PRIOR TO the cruise....
Old Feb 4th, 2004, 02:14 AM