Search

Two Way Radios

Search this Thread

Old Oct 18th, 2001, 05:47 AM
Mike

Two Way Radios

Has anybody used two way radios on a ship? Do they work? We are taking our kids, and thought it would be a good way to keep tabs. Is there too much steel? <BR> <BR>Thanks, <BR>Mike

Old Oct 18th, 2001, 06:54 AM
x

I have seen families using them on the ship. I didn't ask them how well they worked. <BR> <BR>

Old Oct 18th, 2001, 07:20 AM
techydude

Chances are there will be a lot of dead areas because of bulk heads. If you can tell me the frequency on them I can give you a good idea how well or poorly they will work (or at least if they are VHF or UHF).

Old Oct 18th, 2001, 08:12 AM
Bob

I'm a HAM radio operator and frequent cruiser. The radio's they are using are on the new "Family Radio" frequencies (you can get them in any electronics department for about $50-60 a pair) and I've used them on several ships. <BR>Since these little radios have a range of up to two mile (in the open) they also work well to find each other while you are off the ship, shopping, etc. <BR>I found that they will work in most areas of the ship but for example, if you're on deck 1 and the person you are trying to reach is on the top deck there is so much steel between you that you'll have trouble. <BR>What we did was try calling each other, if they didn't respond move to another area and try again. <BR>They really saved us a LOT of walking. Really, the only problem with them was kids calling each other constantly with typical kid chatter. Make sure you get a pair that has more than 1 or 2 channels. Most now have about 15-18 channels to cut down on this problem. <BR>Have fun! Bob

Old Oct 18th, 2001, 09:46 AM
Mike