Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Travel Topics > Cruises
Reload this Page >

How much Euro should I take on 2 week cruise?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 27th, 2003, 03:00 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Has anyone recently come back from a cruise in Mediterranean? How much money did you take in Euro's. I was curious because there is such a big spread between what Thomas Cook Travel will convert Canadian $ at

Buying is at 1.6425
Selling back is at 1.4510 That's a 19 cent spread!

I was hoping someone could advise how much I would need for pocket money traveling from Barcelona to Italy / Greek Islands. I was going to charge most things on my credit card, but am sure I will need cash for Greek Islands. The last time I was there - 12 years ago, the shops frowned on credit cards and would charge more if you were not paying in cash... but I was a student then and shopped in inexpensive places.
Old Jun 27th, 2003, 04:00 PM

On the Europe Board, they all tell you to use an ATM card locally to get cash....

We did that on a Med Cruise a few years ago....They had one in St. Tropez about 2 blocks from where the cruise ship tendered....

Also you will be able to buy EUROS in the AIRPORT when you arrive on foreign soil....So don't worry....

And I imagine the ship will also convert Euros to dollars but their prices will probably be as bad or worse than Thomas Cooks....
Old Jun 27th, 2003, 07:28 PM
Bootman4U

DON'T BUY Euros at an airport..use the airport's ATM...much better rates to include bank kiosks.

Old Jun 27th, 2003, 07:59 PM
Original Poster