European River Cruise

Search

European River Cruise

Search this Thread

Old Dec 3rd, 2012, 12:13 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
European River Cruise

My husband and I are very intrigued by the idea of a river cruise. I am thinking either Germany or France. We'd also maybe like to add in a few days afterwards in Amsterdam. although that may not happen. I am a total newbie on this subject, so any info, suggestions, etc., would be appreciated. Are there any cruise companies recommended over others? Would also like to be able to do some bicycle riding upon docking. I know I'm being a bit vague, but really don't know quite what to ask. How long are the boats in the ports? I am hoping they aren't just big shopping expeditions or costly excusions, which seems to be the case with the large cruise ships. Are you on the boat in the evening or still in the port?

Any info you can share will get me started. Thank you!
Old Dec 3rd, 2012, 12:35 PM

We took a Viking cruise this spring on thew lower Danube. I thought that it was great. However a lot depends on your itinerary which you pick. We liked Viking. There was not excessive shopping, but that too is relative. We had tours most places which were included in the fares. We were overnite on the ships. I'm not sure about bikes. On many stops you would be free to do what you like, but whether or not a bike would be available, I don't know. I think a trip in Germany or France would be great, and the stops would allow more personal choices.
Old Dec 3rd, 2012, 02:20 PM