Reload this Page >

Booking cruises at the last minute.

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 28th, 1999, 02:35 PM
jwward

I am retired and interested in booking travel on cruise lines at the last minute. I <BR>understand that this is possible and that you may find great savings. any one has any <BR>information it would be greatly appreciated.

Old Mar 7th, 1999, 05:51 PM
Morocz Kalman

To Bahamas

Old Mar 9th, 1999, 11:38 AM
Elaine

You might want to check out Spur of the Moment. They don't charge any membership fee; many last-minute agencies do. Their website is at <BR>http://www.spurof.com/ <BR>I found them after I was already booked on the cruise we'll be taking in April, but I'll want to get quotes from them for our next cruise. <BR>

Old Mar 11th, 1999, 07:47 PM
Paul Therault

<BR>What makes you think you will get a better deal at the last minute? <BR>I am a travel agent and find the best deals are given for early bookings. Also, you would have the best choice of cabins. <BR> <BR>My customers that wish to travel at the last minute find all the airline economy seats sold out. Also, rental cars are no longer available along with hotels. <BR> <BR>If, by chance, there are a few empty cabins on a particular ship the cruise line would not fax 3,000 agents in the world. It would not be cost effective. They would rather sell them to travel agents waiting on standby. <BR> <BR>There are many promotions offered by the cruise lines for assorted sailings. If you have assorted dates you choose to travel, this is the best way to go. <BR> <BR>Travel agents also receive coupons for additional commissions for assorted sailings. I pass these savings along to my customers. Right now I am holding 22 coupons for Royal Caribbean and Celebrity alone. <BR> <BR>Also travel agents sponsor groups. You may join these groups at a very reasonable price. Ocassionally, travel agents have a group and might give you a better price if you join at the last minute since they have not filled their q