Alaska Cruise...which ship/itinerary?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 1st, 2004, 06:43 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am just beginning my research for an Alaskan cruise next Summer. I am having a difficult time deciding which cruise line/itinerary would be best for us.

There will be about 10 of us between the ages of 23-55. We are experienced travelers and have been on two other cruises, both in the Caribbean. We have cruised on Celebrity's Constellation and Royal Caribbean's Adventure of the Seas. We loved both cruises, but felt that the food and service were both much better on Celebrity.

We are very active, adventerous travelers and will likely spend 5-7 days on land. We are looking for a ship that would provide good food and service, but especially want a ship that will offer us exciting opportunities to experience Alaska.

Beyond advice regarding which ship. I would like suggestions regarding which itinerary. Should we do land first or cruise? Is it a good idea to plan the land portion independant of the cruise line. Should we do a one way itinerary? Do we want to do the inside passage?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Old Aug 2nd, 2004, 01:06 AM

Head to your library and take out Alaska travle books- there is much more to consider than what can be listed on these boards. IF Alaska IS THE PRIORITY, you need to consider more than these two lines. For clairfication ALL Alaska cruises do the Inside Passage. On a one way- I never would consider one without College Fjords- which leaves your two lines out- neither goes there. I also give a BIG edge to Glacier Bay. So you need to look at route, ports, time in ports, glacier, price. ANY cruise will offer you great port touring opportunities- they are port based. I also give an edge to Seward vs Whittier- BUT take advantage of being there- way too many just pass through and miss this great touring opportunity day.