A better way to find a cruise?

Aug 2nd, 2018, 02:25 PM
Original Poster

A better way to find a cruise?

Do you think there could be a better way to shop for cruises?

if I want to buy a purse, I can go to any online store, specify the type, size, color, designer, etc, and see relevant options. But if I want to find a cruise for a family with 3 kids, with a kid program that will allow all of my kids to participate together, on a ship that has in-room childcare and wine-tasting classes, I'll have to do a large amount of research on my own. If anything was possible, how would you want it to work?

To clarify, I am not looking for a cruise for myself... I described the situation as an example. I am a product designer, and I working on designing an interface that would help customers or travel agents make better decisions about which cruise to take. I want to understand if this is something that cruisers and agents would find valuable, or if the tools that already exist are sufficient and no new tools are needed.
Aug 2nd, 2018, 08:06 PM

Cruise Critic and those forums already do a pretty good job, plus you have the forums where like Fodors you can ask these kind of questions.

If I am just searching by itinerary I use Vacations to Go.
Aug 3rd, 2018, 06:16 AM

I also think the current forums and web sites do a very good job of providing information about cruises. For example, the question about kids' programs could be posted or searched on cruise critic and probably answered right off. Cruise critic does a wonderful job of evaluating programs, ports and ships.