Search

Scuba/ Snorelling & Restaurants recommendations

Search this Thread

Old Jul 23rd, 2004, 03:44 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Scuba/ Snorelling & Restaurants recommendations

Hi guys,

I am a novice diver (have not dived for over 8 months after my FIRST boat dive!!) and my friend only snorkels. We are going to Aruba next week and I am trying to find a few places where I can scuba (SAFELY) and he can snorkel. Any recommendations on where and if there is any dive operator I should go with?

I've heard there are tons of great restaurants in Aruba but we only have 1 wk. Any MUST GO places that we should not miss?

Thanks so much. This is definitely the BEST COMMUNITY website!!

Old Jul 26th, 2004, 11:52 AM

Just back from Aruba this morning. My husband and I aren't scuba divers, but we do enjoy snorkeling. We were impressed with the Octopus Champagne Brunch trip. Jethro has a very nice sailing boat (no motor!) and only takes 20 people out at a time. We snorkeled the wreck and Catalina Bay. Catalina Bay was great snorkeling, but the wreck was interesting for what it is. Sorry I don't know more about scuba opportunities.

Our favorite restaurants:
Flying Fishbone (about 30min from hotel strip)
Madame Janette's (5min from hotel strip)
Amazonia (walking distance from high rise hotels)

They all have easy to find websites where you can make advance reservations and check their menus.
Old Jul 31st, 2004, 05:27 AM

We love Aruba after having vacationed there several times. Our don't miss picks for restaurants would be El Gaucho, Marandi (marandiaruba.com) and Madame Janette's.
We really like the ribs at Tango where they feature a short tango dance routine for entertainment. Early bird specials are a great deal.
All of these restaurants have websites online.
Have a great trip.
Old Aug 2nd, 2004, 05:47 PM