Legal question about rentals

Old Jan 18th, 2008, 01:01 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Legal question about rentals

Could anyone let me know where I would stand in this situation -

I am about to book a rental cottage for a two week break in The Abacos. Dream location looks to good to be true.

However, just before sending the money - have discovered the place is up for sale - what if the house sells prior to our holiday in June 2008. There does seem to be a lot of rentla homes that are up for sale - is this a normal situation?
Old Jan 18th, 2008, 01:40 PM

in my experience yes - it's normal. actually i think almost all rental homes are 'for sale for the right price'. i am not a lawyer but your rental contract would pre-date any future sales contract, so you should be set. in addition most buyers plan to continue to rent the property out. they would not be allowed to raise your rates either.

if you're willing to share i'd love to look at the house. or perhaps a trip report when you get home. i've been looking for just the right house somewhere in bahamas for some time now. we require 3br and beachfront and like a pool.
Old Jan 18th, 2008, 02:24 PM

What Virginia says is not entirely true. If the property is sold the new owners are not obligated to rent you the house - they may want the house solely for their own use. Your contract is with the old owner and if the new owners decide not to rent the old owner would be obligated to refund your money. Of course, the new owners could just as easily agree to honor your rental. How things are handle would depend on the terms of the Purchase & Sale Agreement between the buyer and seller.