Search

Grand Cayman or Aruba

Search this Thread

Old Oct 5th, 2003, 06:25 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Grand Cayman or Aruba

Hi, This is my first time posting here. I have to chose between Grand Cayman and Aruba for a four night stay in January and I don't know which to choose. I've been reading all of the posts and feel a little overwhelmed. Our main reason for going is to get some sun and heat in the middle of a midwestern winter.

Most important to my husband is a good beach that isn't crowded. I like things to do like shopping and spas. Price range per night up to 300$, I like a really nice place to stay with all of the modern amenities. I like resort type places but would be interested in off the beaten track places that are upscale.

Any help/websites for hotels would be much appreciated. Thank you.
Old Oct 5th, 2003, 06:37 PM

Hi, I've been to Aruba twice (most recently July 2003) and we absolutely love it. It is a very safe island and they have breath taking beaches. The island is very small so if you choose you can rent a car and tour the island one day. They are also known for their fabulous restaurants. We don't snorkel or dive, but we've been told both are great there. If you have any specific questions please feel free to email me at [email protected].
Old Oct 5th, 2003, 06:50 PM

Aruba's beaches are crowded. I didn't like the island because of it's Miami Beach feel - hotel upon hotel and LOTS of bodies - and this was in October. We dive and snorkel and both were mediocre at best. I'd recommend St; John for uncrowded beaches. Grand Cayman is lovely - but 7 mile beach can be busy too.
Old Oct 5th, 2003, 08:25 PM