Search

Good Eats on Tortola

Search this Thread

Old Feb 17th, 1998, 02:08 PM
Kate Geskos

Good Eats on Tortola

I'm headed for Tortola next week. We're staying at Long Bay and I'm sure the food is good but need more "island" recommendations.

Old Feb 17th, 1998, 09:44 PM
Phil

Go to cane garden bay, it's got some nice places.

Old Feb 19th, 1998, 06:51 PM
Joel

I've been vacationing regularly on Tortola for 4 years. Here are my recommendations:
1. At about $95 for two with wine and a very unique ambiance, try Sugar Mill which is about 2 miles down the shore from Long Bay. The owners are (still, I think) writers for Bon Appetit magazine. They do well, but don't expect stateside excellence.
2. Best burger and most relaxed setting: the Jolly Roger on the ferry side of Soper's Hole about 5 miles from Long Bay (go past the ferry building at West End and you'll see the Jolly Roger by itself overlooking the anchorage. Nice folks, very relaxed.
3. Often rated as the best restaurant on the island, but I haven't tried it: Brandywine Bay Restaurant. About 3-4 miles from the airport on the main highway from airport to Road Town.
4. Native cuisine: Ms. Scatliffe's which is in a home setting with a terrible family band and Ms. Scatliffe is apt to expound on Christianity and other of her opinions. Colorful. The food is all native popular dishes. I've heard that Rhymer's Restaurant is better for native cuisine.
5. My favorite and, in my opinion, a must for casual dining in a romantic setting: Frenchman's Cay Resort, about 15 min from Long Bay. Head for Soper's Hole. After you go across the little bridge where you'd turn right for Soper's Hole... turn left instead. The road dead ends at Frenchman's Cay Resort, a very nice, small resort with a restaurant with a view. Wide assortment of dishes cooked American style. A favorite gathering place. Good place to meet people, but always a candlelight dinner with the tradewinds blowing.