Vancouver and Victoria

Search

Vancouver and Victoria

Search this Thread

Old Jun 8th, 2007, 12:56 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vancouver and Victoria

Hello! I am new to the Canada forum, I usually post on the Europe board. I am planning a trip to Vancouver in early July. I read several previous posts and learned some great tips but I do have a few questions of my own:

1) I am not familiar with the different neighborhoods of Vancouver, which are considered safe, yet interesting places to stay? I am a single female and in my mid-30's. Mostly interested in visiting parks, museums, bookstores, markets, cafes etc. Not looking for nightlife, more interested in cultural attractions.

2) I am looking for budget hotels that are well situated and clean. I was considering the YWCA hotel but I've also read good things about the Buchan and Sylvia hotels. Which do you recommend most? I am not renting a car so I prefer places where I can walk or have easy access to transportation.

3)Budget hotels in Victoria?

4)How many days do you recommend staying in each place in order to have enough time to enjoy the highlights?

I appreciate any advice you may offer. Thanks in advance!
Ruba
Old Jun 8th, 2007, 01:40 PM
mdn

TravelZoo is advertising a super special rate of $149 /night at the Pacific Palisades hotel in Vancouver downtown. I believe it's a very nice boutique hotel. Rooms are going fast & every few hours more dates are being sold-out! Don't know whether $150 would qualify as budget, but looking at the other rates in Vancouver, it looks like a bargain for a good boutique hotel during peak season.
Old Jun 8th, 2007, 08:41 PM

We stayed at the lovely Sylvia Hotel in May and really enjoyed it. It's right next to Stanley Park and overlooks English Bay. It's anlder hotel but very clean with a lot of character. Also, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt it was a good value considering how expensive hotels are in Vancouver.