Search

Travel between Vancouver and Calgary via Jasper

Search this Thread

Old Jan 13th, 2006, 02:18 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Travel between Vancouver and Calgary via Jasper

Hello all,
I'm new to this and also to the type of holiday we're planning so all advice and help gratefully received.
We are flying to Vancouver on 9th Sept 2006 to go on an NCL Alaska cruise on 10th for a week. Slightly nervous as not normally our type of holiday but husband wants to see Alaska (or a very small bit of it) and finaces permitting this seemed our best option. Now the bit we need real help with especially as we are being told things get booked up quickly - when we get back to Vancouver on the 17th we have until morning of the 25th Sept to get to Calgary airport for flight back to London. We are up for driving but some of the distances seem vast and we'd like to have a relaxing week rather than all driving as do alot of that at home (though on the left which also concerns me!). Train seems expensive but may be an option. We think we'd like to have a couple of days in Vancouver and visit at least Jasper, Lake Louise and Banff and we keep hearing about the fantastic scenery between Jasper and Banff. Any suggestions of where to go, how to get there and places to stay? Would normally go for the smaller hotels rather than the very large if possible within reasonable budget!

Thanks for any help.
Emma
Old Jan 13th, 2006, 07:21 AM
ltt

well the best choice is renting a car and driving. it's a beautiful drive. you can drive from vancouver to interior bc in an easy day. stay the night and then head onto jasper. few days there, take the banff/jasper hwy, stay in banff and then onto calgary. you'll have to check around though because the drop off fee (for picking up in one city and dropping off in another) for the rental car will vary between companies.