Reload this Page >

Quick Question....

Search

Quick Question....

Search this Thread

Old Jul 27th, 2002, 06:59 PM
canadagirl

Quick Question....

As I work in the tourism industry in Vancouver, why do so many American tourists think prices in stores or fares quoted from hotels/airlines are in American Dollars?? Do you not realize CANADA IS A DIFFERENT COUNTRY WITH ITS OWN CURRENCY!? Not all countries deal with American money! Especially not Canada.

Old Jul 28th, 2002, 12:24 PM
gary

Believe it or not many third world countries, (and some not so third worls), post prices in US$ where tourists frequent. Many Americans also tend to be suprised when their postage stamps aern't valid here. "But the letters are going to the States' they say.<BR><BR>Actually after seeing the way Americans insist on using there currency overseas to the point of being downright rude I've found that in Canada they are relatively more respectful of our money than in other places. But in any event don't be angry at them for their ignorance - tpourist industry people in other countries have conditioned them to think US currency is preferable to their own.

Old Jul 28th, 2002, 12:45 PM
americanboy

Candagirl,<BR>I find it hard to believe you work in tourism with such an angry attitude. I have been traveling to Canada on vacations for many, many years and I always use Canadian dollars but many times I am with friends who ask stores if they can pay in US Dollars and the answer has always been yes (and many stores and hotels do give prices in both currencies.) So, the truth is that Canada does deal in American dollars and that's not a bad thing. It doesn't mean ignorace or lack of respect. It just means that Canadians realize that they border a country with 280 million people who use US Dollars and accepting them from tourists is not a bad thing!

Old Jul 28th, 2002, 01:32 PM
xxx