Prince Edward County Wine Tour

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 8th, 2009, 08:10 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

First weekend in June we headed off to Prince Edward County to have an inclusive look at wineries. Tour included two red wine fans, SP and AM, two oaked Chardonnay fans, AM and RP and one serious white drinker RP....oh yes and my husband KR, our driver a farmer by profession and total abstainer. I will make this a short version of trip and if anyone wants details let me know. I know that when I went looking for info last stuff on PE County was 6 years out of date. If you are just interested in wine two days is lots of time but there is lots of other stuff to do there we did not do. From east to west we took in the majority of established wineries altho there are new ones coming on every day.
County Cider Company - amazing location, lovely lunch room looking over the lake from elevated position. Food looked excellent and people were enjoying it. Wine is less than average and cider was just average. Bought the apple icewine - plan to use it for cooking some fancy pork meal.
Waupoos - original winery in PE county, still experimenting with grape varieties. Definitely known for their Baco but I bought the St Laurent which was new to me. We had lunch in the beautiful gazebo by the lake. Everyone enjoyed their meal and we all ate and had a glass of wine for $80.
Long Dog Winery - all wines named after the families Dachshunds. One of two top wineries in the county in my humble opinion. Bought both the 2007 Chardonnay and Pinot Noir which will be cellared for 5 years. Amazing stuff in an intimate setting.