NF: Iceberg Report Pls

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 21st, 2005, 03:44 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm excited to have researched and planned a trip to your province!

Can you give me a preview of what the iceberg sightings are like this year (St. Anthony's, Twillingate, Bonavista, St. John's)?

Enjoy-la!
Old Jun 21st, 2005, 10:29 AM

Environment Canada publishes a sea ice report which should give you an idea of what things will be like:

http://ice-glaces.ec.gc.ca/App/WsvPa...;#x26;Lang=eng
Old Jun 22nd, 2005, 02:13 AM
Original Poster

Thx a mint for the site, laverendrye. Pretty cool...never knew such a thing existed.

Looks like lots of icebergs on the Labrador coast down to Baie Verte, but according to the map most of them seem quite far off shore. Good thing I'm heading to St. Anthony's.

I have no experience with icebergs so was wondering if anyone is in the local area, does it look like a "good" iceberg season?

I'll take a look at the site daily to see how fast they move!

Enjoy-la!
Old Jun 23rd, 2005, 08:29 AM

No icebergs at all yet in the St. John's area this season.

It would be very surprising if you did not find them off St. Anthony -they're just about 'guaranteed' there.

Haven't spoken to anyone up near Twillingate recently so can't comment on that area.

Slightly off topic...humpback whales are starting to show up around Witless Bay which puts them pretty much on a normal schedule although Nfld has had a cool spring season.

cheers

Jerry
Old Jul 13th, 2005, 02:35 AM
Original Poster

Thx for the update gannetmusic.

I just returned from my trip...wow!! However, there are virtually NO icebergs! There was one up at L'anse aux Meadows, but it was about 12 miles out and boats were not going to it.

We took an "iceberg" tour in St. Anthony's and nothing there (did see whales tho). No icebergs in Twillingate either. Basically none everywhere.