Reload this Page >

Calgary--Canada Olympic Park v. Banff

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 2nd, 2003, 11:41 PM
Terence

I had originally planned to ski in Banff/Lake Louise/Sunshine Village, but am now considering skiing in the Canada Olympic Park. I am beginner skier, and this is also my first visit to Canada. The more I looked at it, Banff seemed to be a lot more involved due to the commuting time to get to the ski resorts, the extreme cold, and the low presence of an active nightlife. <BR><BR>Can anyone comment on this and give me some insights into skiing at Canada Olympic Park. As I said, I'm a beginner and definitely will be taking lessons. I really want to improve my skiing.<BR><BR>Thanks!<BR><BR>T

Old Jan 3rd, 2003, 04:56 AM
Tim

Skip COP - go to Banff. You will get instruction there, and they have trails for all levels of experience. Depending on how fast you learn &amp; how long you are visiting, you may get bored very quickly with COP - it is not a very big hill.<BR><BR>As for temperatures, there is not that big a difference between Banff &amp; Calgary in the winter; as for a commute, it wouldn't be a much different drive from Banff to the hills there than commuting from your Calgary hotel to COP; and I actually prefer the nightlife in Banff over that of Calgary - its a resort town and folks are there to enjoy themselves.<BR><BR>Enjoy your visit to Canada!<BR>Tim

Old Jan 3rd, 2003, 05:41 AM
Heather

My children are now beginner skiiers and I think the drive to Sunshine or Lake Louise is well worth it. There is nothing better for a beginner than the long gentle slopes with real snow that you can find in the mountains. COP is often crowded and icey.<BR><BR>COP is OK for someone who can't get to the mountains for some reason but I sure wouldn't make it a first choice.

Old Jan 3rd, 2003, 11:42 AM
Terence

Thanks for the helpful replies!

Old Jan 3rd, 2003, 06:54 PM
joe