Visa Application to Oz Denied

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 8th, 2004, 01:13 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My wife and I (both American) applied for an Australian Tourist ETA Visa online. Her application was approved immediately. Mine was not.

In order to continue my application, I had to fax a copy of my passport to the Dept of Immigration & Multicultural & Indigenous Affairs in Canberra.

We've been to Australia before without any difficulty. We've never been arrested and haven't even had a traffic ticket. I can't imagine what the problem would be. The only thing I can find out is that it will take three weeks to process my application.

Has anyone else run into this type of situation before? If so, how was it resolved?
Old Jun 8th, 2004, 01:46 PM

Hi, JohninMiami!

No, I have had no experience with this, but it's the kind of horror scenario that I think about every time I hand in two visa applications. Now, your visa hasn't actually been denied, has it? You have been asked to provide further details, which may not really amount to much (as long, of course, as you can afford the time!)

Hopefully, the people making the decision will be fully aware of the need for urgency, and the problem will resolve itself without too much more stress. There's probably a perfectly good -- and simple -- reason for the delay. Maybe you have the same name as someone we tossed out last year! Maybe you're George Bush's brother! Anyway, it would probably be worth a couple of long-distance phone calls to the relevant Department to keep you up front in their minds; if this isn't possible for you, if you'd like to email me privately on [email protected] and give me the details I need to know, I'll be happy to call them myself on your behalf (only a "local" for me!) That's not a promise to "use my influence", you understand... frankly, I haven't any!
Old Jun 8th, 2004, 01:57 PM