Reload this Page >

Vehicle Rental or Purchase in Oz

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 27th, 2002, 04:30 PM
Thomas Latcheran

I will be arriving in Melbourne in May. Afterwards, I intend to spend 3 months or more visiting the country. I have a keen interest in hiking and plan to visit the Outback as well as exploring other areas where having a reliable vehicle is not only convenient but necessary.<BR><BR>I have no personal experience in the country, but I read that a preferred vehicle -including possibly a light pick-up truck or cargo van - would be one with high clearance to manage any holes or ruts that are likely to be encountered when off an oiled road.<BR><BR>Of course, the choice is either to rent or buy a vehicle. In making the choice, a prime consideration would be the trade-off in the cost of a rental vis a vie the problems associated with finding a reliable used car at a fair price, being able to obtain insurance at a reasonable price, and being able the vehicle quickly when the trip is completed. I am also well-aware that a bad experience with a vehicle can make an otherwise pleasant trip a nightmare. Also, from what I have read, buying a vehicle from a dealer with a guaranteed buy-back is not a good idea owing to the quality of the vehicle usually obtained and the tendency of the dealer to charge add-ons when the vehicle is returned<BR><BR>I would appreciate any knowlegible opinions or comments, as well as recommendations, which may be helpful in making the choice.<BR><BR>Thank you,<BR><BR>Tom<BR><BR>

Old Jan 27th, 2002, 04:57 PM
LizF