Search

Trip To Sydney

Search this Thread

Old Nov 19th, 2013, 09:38 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Trip To Sydney

So I am planning a trip to Sydney in the summer and I thought it would be a good start to ask people what they feel is great to go check out. This is my first time there and I have no idea what to expect. I have family there who can bring me to the basic places like the Opera House, Zoo, and much more. But as someone who is going with friends, I also want to go places that we girls would really enjoy. Is there any good spots in Sydney to shop around. I also don't mind doing a bit of traveling, it will add to the fun and also pays off in looking around. Any suggestions would be great! Also any good places where you can get cheap UGGS, they are so expensive here in Toronto.
Thanks,
Old Nov 19th, 2013, 03:26 PM

When you say summer, is it the Down-Under summer (roughly November through March)? As an indicator, daylight saving time is Oct. 6 through April 6.

In Sydney you have to take as many ferry rides as you can - just for the heck of it, to nowhere in particular even - you will have no end of fun. Don't take the all-enclosed catamarans but the old-fashioned ones where you have the wind and sun in your face. They all leave from Circular Quay.

You probably want to get a MyMulti3 weekly ticket, it gets you on all buses and ferries, and on trains within a reasonable area.

A lovely and classy shopping location is the Queen Victoria Building (known as QVB) - google it! A fun shopping area is Paddy's Market near Chinatown. A premier souvenir shopping area is the Rocks, across Sydney Cove from the Opera House.

The Cross (short for "Kings Cross") area is big on entertainment, can be on the raunchy side, your family will fill you in. Lower George Street (from Town Hall down towards Central Railway) is another entertainment strip.