The goods & the bads on Australia?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 27th, 2007, 06:25 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Myself & my partner are looking to go to Oz in Jan/Feb 08'. As regards the work, the cost of living, the accomodation availability, the weather, the beaches & things to do, could you please give me the Positives & the Negatives about all the areas in Oz, to help us make up our mind which area we should go to, as we're hoping for possible sponsorship from it, to be able to stay on, if we love it. I'm an Account Manager in Sales & my partner is an electrician... As much information as possible would be very very helpful. Thankyou.
Old Jul 27th, 2007, 10:48 AM

being on the west coast myself, i would recomend the west if your looking for work, with the WA mining boom at the moment. Sparkies are in short supply.. As for things to do on the west, living in geraldton myself i would skip it. Kalbarri is good for the scenery. sharks bay, play with dolphins, nice beaches. down south of perth margret river, wine region. Perth it self is a good spot, with fremantle and rottnest island. Nice beaches too

And if you go the east coast the sites are endless. Queensland awesome beaches.

As for that time of year, it will be stinking hot most places Perth probably 37deg C in the start of feb
Old Jul 27th, 2007, 03:38 PM

"The positives and negatives about all the areas in Oz"? That's a very big question - too big for a forum like this. (Assuming you're American, think about trying to tackle the same question in regard to the USA.)

I would suggest raiding your local library for suitable books on Australia - travel guides, even though they're oriented to tourists, would be somewhere to start.

And if you plan to work legally, you'll need to carefully study the rules - the Department of Immigration's website is www.immi.gov.au. Good luck!
Old Jul 28th, 2007, 06:09 AM