Search

Fraser Island for the day

Search this Thread

Old Feb 7th, 2012, 09:21 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fraser Island for the day

Hello,

The wife and I will be in Fraser island in two days and are wondering if we should take a day tour from kingfisher or rent our own 4WD and venture of on our own.

I like the experience of renting and exploring on our own but am not sure if it's ideal. It's also expensive at $300 for the one day. I also heard the rental companies try to gauge you for the insurance bond.

Can anyone recommend a reputable rental company?

Thx
Old Feb 7th, 2012, 09:37 PM

The question for us to ask is probably 'How experienced are you at 4WD driving?' A lot of folk get themselves into a lot of trouble in 4WDs on Fraser Island, sadly often resulting with deaths and serious injuries.
Old Feb 7th, 2012, 09:48 PM
Original Poster

Never been in a 4wd jeep. But I'm a good driver. How hard can it be?
Old Feb 8th, 2012, 01:50 AM

How hard can it be???
Driving through deep sand is not the same as driving on the open road!

On Fraser Island we took a full day 4WD tour. We had no sooner left the pick-up point than our way was blocked by a novice driver who obviously had no idea how to handle the conditions. His vehicle was being revved up so hard, the ruts in the sand were getting deeper and deeper, eventually his belongings began to fall from the back of the vehicle, burst open and scatter everywhere.

For those of us sitting securely inside our vehicle it was a great laugh, but our driver was obliged to help this mug on his way before we could go anywhere.

There is so much to see and do there, you really need a 'local' to take you to the most interesting sites. That way you get to see the best of the island without any hassles. Di
Old Feb 8th, 2012, 04:56 AM