Just beginning - 10 days in the South Island New Zealand

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 10th, 2011, 09:02 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I, our 5-year old daughter, and my SIL and husband will be flying to NZ this March. We are meeting my in-laws there who will have been in Auckland for the previous 6 weeks. We have decided to focus our trip on the SI and am trying to figure out where to fly in/out. We are flying direct from LAX to AKL and want to fly somewhere closer to the SI. My in-laws will have a few days to drive and meet us or they can fly as well. I thought we might fly into Wellington and take the ferry over and head towards Abel Tasman then head down the coast past the glaciers, inland to mt Cook maybe, down to Milford Sound and end in Queentown and surrounding area. We could then fly out of Queentown to AKL to make our international flight.

I am just getting started with the planning, but does that sound like a good rough outline so I can go ahead and reserve plane tickets? Would it it be easier to access Abel Tasman from Christchurch?
Old Dec 10th, 2011, 09:03 AM
Original Poster

(meant Queenstown)
Old Dec 10th, 2011, 03:30 PM

Received 83 Likes on 5 Posts
You can reach the SI by ferry or you can fly...flight options include Christchurch, Nelson or Blenheim (small airport, limited flights).

If Abel Tasman is high on your list of things to see, taking the ferry makes sense. The drive from Picton (where you'd arrive on the ferry from Wellington) to Abel Tasman will take approximately 2.5 hours. Flying into Blenheim will only shorten that drive by about 25 minutes.

Reaching Abel Tasman from Christchurch takes considerably longer - it's about a six hour drive. Another option is to fly to Nelson and drive from there; Abel Tasman is about an hour's drive from Nelson.