In Need of Some Hostel/Hotel Help!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 20th, 2011, 07:02 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

So, I know I am super last minute with this, but I have a slight dilemma...

I am studying abroad this semester and I'll be in Sydney for 5 days and 4 nights before I have to be in Canberra for school.

I have YET to book/figure out where I am staying for this long weekend. I have found some hostels on STAtravel.com, but I don't know which ones are the best?

Also, I am trying to stay within a relatively cheap budget since I am going to be traveling around and sight seeing, etc. etc. (I'd like to stay under $50/$60 a night)

I know I am such a procrastinator, but I need some advice!!! What is both safe and relatively inexpensive (looking for some specific places).

THANK YOU!!!
Old Jul 20th, 2011, 10:55 AM

Have you tried looking at Hostelworld.com? That's where my college age kids go to book their hostels. Not knowing your dates, I can't say what's available and at what price, but there are LOTS of Sydney hostels listed on Hostelworld and many of them have a rating of 85% or above. My kids find the ratings and the reviews on Hostelworld to be both accurate and helpful.

Although I have not stayed there, I have read good things about the Sydney Harbour YHA and it gets a rating of 90% on Hostelworld. You can't beat its location in The Rocks.
Old Jul 20th, 2011, 02:59 PM

In terms of suburbs of Sydney Glebe, Newtown and Kings Cross have the highest density of backpackers' places. Newtown and Glebe are either side of the University of Sydney so both areas are good for students. The Cross is the red light district so many not be ideal for you.

If it's outside semester time, the Universities often have accommodation. You could check with Sydney University and UNSW both of which have halls of residence.

Longhorn's suggestion of using the Youth Hostels, is a very good idea. Here's the link for specific locations in Sydney: