Help with Australia Itinerary...Please

Dec 15th, 2007, 03:20 AM
Original Poster

Help with Australia Itinerary...Please

Ok, THE plan originally was a two-week+ trip to Southern South America in January 2009.

Suddenly, the husbear wants to go to Australia instead!!!

We've never been there..ever.

We like the beach and we also like cities.

I had thought of including Perth but that seems a little far out of the way.

Snorkeling (not diving) would be nice, too.

I am just beginning to research and would appreciate any suggestions as to ANYONE's idea of the so-called "highlights."

Budget is not much of an issue and we can afford to stay about anywhere.

I would sincelet appreciate any suggestions as to where even to begin.

Thanks
Dec 17th, 2007, 02:48 AM

My highlights would include: a round trip of Tasmania (include Cradle Mountain and Strahan); Barrier Reef (Lizard Island if money is not a problem an island directly on the reef) and Far North Queensland; the Centre (Alice Springs, Kings Canyon, Uluru), Kakadu National Park.
Dec 23rd, 2007, 02:04 AM

Dukey - the southern summer is not the time to go to Northern Australia - very hot and humid, deadly marine stingers, outback floodwater strandings. IMO, for city life and beaches best to stick to Sydney (see my and other advice for your Oct enquiry) and elsewhere in south eastern Aust (coast drive Adelaide - Melbourne perhaps, or Tasmania). And don't forget New Zealand if you have the opportunity.

(For what it's worth, you might also see some beach and harbourside accommodation suggestions under 'Sydney Hotel - unplanned family medical emergency'.) Good luck.
Dec 23rd, 2007, 01:17 PM

Hi there,

I agree about avoiding northern Australia in summer. It will be way too hot and humid. Central Australia, ie Alice Springs and Ayers Rock (uluru) will be baking hot.

suggestions for Victoria: