Great Barrier Reef for Xmas?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 21st, 2003, 11:44 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've heard mixed reviews on visiting Australia for the Christmas/New Years season. My husband & I have 2 weeks of vacation during this time, and we've always wanted to visit GBR & Sydney (we are from the US). Would you recommend that we pick a different time of year?

We have heard there could be torrential rains up north & that you can't swim GBR because of jellyfish swarms?

Does anyone have any experience during this time of year in GBR or Sydney?

Thanks very much,
Diane
Old Jul 21st, 2003, 12:09 PM

Well - I live in Sydney, so I've had some experience of Sydney!

Christmas / January can be quite hot and humid - but don't let this discourage you. In January especially, the Festival of Sydney is on, and there's a heap of entertainment. And don't forget the after-Christmas sales - even with the Oz dollar making a bit of a fightback, it'll still be cheap for Americans.

The Reef, however, is not at it's best, although people still go there. The humidity, I understand, is just awful, and the stingers in the water mean you can only swim in pools or protected beaches. Search this site for other mentions of the Reef in summer.
Old Jul 21st, 2003, 04:11 PM

In general it is peak holiday season here...school holidays...after new years sydney empties out as ppl take of for everywhere...bit like France in august.

If you decide on that time you should book early and accept that discount flights and hotels are going to be scarce.

Sydney is good for xmas and new years..stay by the beach at Manly or elsewhere...get into the aussie summer lifestyle...morning surf,sailing,sleeping in front of the cricket on tv,bbq,...etc etc..leaves california in the shade..

As for GBR..think about keeping south.