Aussie in Dec or NOT?

Old Sep 20th, 2004, 07:26 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Aussie in Dec or NOT?

Friendly Australia People and Traveled-

I have a dilemna. I want to go Australia in DEC for 3-4 weeks. My best airfare I found is United dec 19th- Jan 10th for $1595. Its the cheapest and convienent in regards to the end of my internship and my return to school in Jan. My father thinks I should wait until another time (havent said WHEN though) to go.

December is summer there. My friend who lives there in Chittaway NSW is offering me a free place to stay and wants to travel with me when I come. She's even offered to quit her retail job to go with me. Thats quite a lot to offer. Her family is even excited to have me over there.

Despite all this, I feel slightly uneasy about deciding so quickly, but time is running short on getting a ticket reserved early enough? Im a fulltime student and December would be my only available time for the next 2 yrs or else May/June. Im trying to read up as much as I can so I can decide how much I need to budget and if I can get my $1600 worth on the trip. Is DEC a good time to travel or is it too High tourist season? Is it better to wait until I am married and travel with my wife there? Should I go in February in a couple years when I am outof school? I want to hear from those who have traveled or those who live there, what their opinion is.

My best ticket price is $1600 to SYDNEY. Is $600 enough to budget for seeing australia? Great Barrier reef... worth going?

Basically, Im looking for quick justification/unjustification for my $1600 trip without putting enough time into reading about where/what/when I want to see in Sydney.

Yesterday was 75 degrees.. today its 34 and snowing. I cant believe Idaho.

THANX
Old Sep 20th, 2004, 09:57 AM

Rahul,
I think there are more experienced people on this board than myself but I just can't help sharing my experiences.