3-week August Australia itinerary: Need feedback

Old May 10th, 2007, 08:22 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3-week August Australia itinerary: Need feedback

Hello all,

I've been browsing this site for several months now, gathering all of your valuable advice and tips about planning a 3-week trip to Australia in August (first time there!), and now that the itinerary is coming together a bit more solidly, I wanted to post it and gather some feedback from the community. Wanted to find out if all this is doable in the time frame we have, and if you all have any recommendations/suggestions as far as how & where we're spending our time, i.e., are we travelling around too much, do we have too much or too little time one spot, is there a must-see attraction somewhere that I've missed? Any advice/opinions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Mon, Aug. 13
Arrival in early a.m. Relax/tour Sydney, overnight in Sydney.

Tue, Aug. 14
Tour Sydney: Opera House, Harbour Bridge, take ferry to Manly, cliffside walks around beaches. Overnight in Sydney.

Wed, Aug. 15
Tour Blue. Mtns., bushwalking/sightseeing. Overnight in Blackheath or Katoomba.

Thu, Aug. 16
More bushwalking, maybe go to Scenic World (is this worth seeing?) Another option: drive to Jenolan Caves. Drive back to Sydney in the evening overnight there.

Fri, Aug. 17
Take a tour of Hunter Valley wineries (any tour companies to recommend here?). Overnight in Sydney.

Sat, Aug. 18
Fly to Uluru. Sounds of Silence dinner in evening.

Sun, Aug. 19
Tour Uluru. We'd like to do the circuit walk of the base, would we need a guided tour here to understand the sites & their significance? Overnight in Ayers Rock Resort.

Mon, Aug. 20
Kata Tjuta: Valley of the Winds walk. Possible flightseeing tour? Overnight in Ayers again.

Tue, Aug. 21
Fly to Darwin, flight arrives around 2 pm. See a bit of the city.

Wed, Aug. 22- Saturday Aug. 25