Search

Complete Asia Newbie - Phnom Penh Itinerary Ideas - Two Weeks

Search this Thread

Old Oct 19th, 2016, 08:55 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Complete Asia Newbie - Phnom Penh Itinerary Ideas - Two Weeks

Hi everyone,

I'm a total newbie to this site and am looking for help! I am flying into Phnom Penh for two weeks (late November/early December). While I travel frequently, this will be my first trip outside of North America. I am visiting a family member who recently moved to Phnom Penh and am looking for itinerary ideas/things for us to do. I am up for visiting other countries as well, such as Thailand or Vietnam. I am fit and am up for hiking and also love spending time on the beach. Of course, I want to keep expenses relatively low, but at the same time am flexible and don't mind paying for additional flights to make the most of my limited time.

Any tips, suggestions or advice would be greatly welcomed.
Old Oct 19th, 2016, 09:19 AM

My first piece of advice is to go slow. The biggest error first-time travelers to this region make is trying to go too many places. So I'd suggest you choose maybe three places - you may want them all in Cambodia. Count how many nights you have on the ground in SE Asia. You say you have 2 weeks, but that could be anywhere from a full 14 nights on the ground to as little as maybe 11 nights on the ground.