Unforgettable, Incredible India

Old Mar 30th, 2018, 02:20 PM
Original Poster

Received 8 Likes on 1 Post
Unforgettable, Incredible India

We have just returned from our first trip to India. First, I want to thank fellow Fodorites for all your excellent advice and answers to my many questions. There's no question that our trip was much improved thanks to you!

My husband (P) has wanted to visit India for years; me, not so much. For him, it was a trip of a lifetime and It ended up being a father/daughter adventure which I was happy to support as a spectator but not as a participant. I've always felt that India is a country you need to take a vacation after visiting! As a former travel agent, I offered to make the arrangements for the three of them (more to come on that). In the year + of planning, P occasionally served me with the "you'll be sorry" card which I was able to successfully ignore until one day last summer when in a moment of weakness I compromised, agreeing to meet them for their second week. That turned out to be one of my better decisions!

The three of them flew from their respective US cities to Amsterdam, then to Mumbai. With only two weeks, it was non-stop with only about two nights in each location. Not ideal, but the best we could do given what they wanted to see. From Mumbai, they flew to Udaipur, then to Delhi where I met them. Next was Varanasi, Agra then back to Delhi.