Travel Southeast Asia in a month

Old Nov 17th, 2015, 07:21 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Travel Southeast Asia in a month

Right now I have a contract working in South Korea. When it ends in July, I was planning on taking a ferry from Busan to Japan. I also have a volunteer opportunity for the end of July, so I decided that I really want to travel Asia. I was planning on spending a week in Japan, maybe 2-3 days in Beijing, 2 days in Hong Kong, a day in Macau (to try bungee jumping at the Macau Tower), and then spending a week in Northern Vietnam before flying to Thailand for volunteer work. I don't know if this itinerary is realistic though, since it is my first time doing this. I will also be travelling solo (and I am a twenty-something year old woman). Any tips, suggested places to see, or advice (if places should be cut) are greatly appreciated.
Old Nov 17th, 2015, 09:36 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
No reason you shouldn't do fine in Asia traveling solo, especially if you've been practicing in south Korea. However, that is very short for Beijing - hardly worth the visa hassle. And a week for Japan is short too, you barely have time for Tokyo and Kyoto plus day trips. (BTW, Japan and China aren't in SEA, your title is misleading.)
Old Nov 17th, 2015, 10:02 PM
kja

I agree with everything thursdaysd said.

Do some research, figure out what you want to see in each location, check opening / closing hours on the internet, and mark up a calendar. Pencil in your transportation, add some time on either side (for getting to/from your lodging, checking in/out, packing/unpacking, getting oriented, etc.). Then see how things fit together. Only then can you decide what will work for your interests.
Old Nov 18th, 2015, 08:02 AM