Reload this Page >

kowloon or hong kong?? please HELP

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 28th, 2002, 03:40 PM
kim

I am trying to plan a trip to hong kong and I find myself confused when it comes to choosing a hotel. I do not know whether to stay in hong kong or kowloon. Which is regarded more posh? WHich is safer? cleaner? WHere is the designer shopping?

Old Nov 28th, 2002, 05:52 PM
Tangata

There is very little difference really. If you want a posh hotel they exist on both sides of the harbour, for example the Peninsula in Kowloon the Mandarin on Hong Kong side.<BR><BR>Both sides are equally safe and clean and both have a plethora of shops selling designer labels.<BR><BR>I am, of course, referring to the CBD on Hong Kong side and the main shopping area in Kowloon. Further a field such as North Point on Hong Kong side or Mongkok on Kowloon and the picture changes somewhat. <BR>

Old Nov 28th, 2002, 06:13 PM
daisy

I am a Hong Kong resident and I can tell you the hotels below are all very safe and mostly convenient. The choice of hotels depends on your budget and your shopping appetite. But as you said you want to see designer¡¦s shops, so here are my suggestions:<BR><BR>Option 1: Top designer shopping (such as Gucci, Salvatore Prada etc.) plus 5 star hotel, your choices are: <BR><BR>Hotels near shopping and MTR station:<BR>Mandarin Oriental, Ritz-Carlton (Room room is very nice, but with not very grand hotel lobby) (Central) ¡V Shopping at Landmark<BR>Island Shangrila, Conrad (Admiralty) ¡V Shopping at Pacific Place<BR>Peninsula (Tsim Sha Shui, Kowloon) ¡V Shopping at Ocean Terminal (New Wing)<BR><BR>Less convenient choice is Grand Hyatt in Wan Chai but is quite grand.<BR><BR>Option 2: Trendy and more local (i.e non-European fashion) shopping and/or average hotel, your choices are:<BR><BR>Very convenient hotels close to MTR:<BR>Parklane, Excelsior (Causeway Bay)<BR>Sheraton (Tsim Sha Tsui)<BR><BR>Option 3: Budget hotels but still convenient<BR><BR>Newton (North