Thailand or Chuuk?

Apr 2nd, 2006, 02:17 PM
Original Poster

Thailand or Chuuk?

I'm new to Fodor's and am really excited to have help planning our latest trip. We love to scuba dive and explore new countries. We will be traveling July 22 - August 6 and were originally wanting to go to Phuket and other Thai destinations. I'm a bit worried about going there during that time because of the rainfall averages. Anyone have any thoughts? Our alternative is Chuuk/Palau (I know - very different trips). Also - other than Bangkok, are there other "don't miss" places? We love nature and animal experiences over city stuff. Thanks for the help!
Apr 2nd, 2006, 05:12 PM

many travellers like chiang mai and chiang rai areas in northern thailand for its more leisurely pace and hills and trees....
Apr 2nd, 2006, 06:44 PM

People go to Phuket for the beaches. There are certainly other beach areas in Thailand that don't have as much rain at that time of the year. If you want more nature experiences, you'd probably prefer Northern Thailand. You can visit one of the elephant conservation camps there.

Decide what kind of vacation you want - that will guide you in deciding where to go.
Apr 2nd, 2006, 08:20 PM

Yeah, for Scuba diving that time of year, you mike look into Koh Tao and the other gulf islands. I think they get better weather in July than the Andamam isles.
Apr 2nd, 2006, 11:40 PM